A Hectic Week

This week has been pretty hectic. I gave notice of my resignation to my employer last Thursday and I’ve have spent the week wrapping up a project and teaching my successor how to do the work she will be taking over. Because of the crazy work schedule, my 2-1/2 year old is off of his sleep routine and I’ve been dealing with meltdowns and behavioral issues with both my 5-1/2 and 2-1/2…not too much fun. I will be glad to have this phase of my life completed and to move on to full-time mothering at home with no outside work obligations and distractions.

Despite my hectic schedule, we made it to the library for story time and to select some books. The books we chose were related to the earth and nature (Earth Day was on Monday this week). One of the books we borrowed is called Seeds! Seeds! Seeds! by Nancy Elizabeth Wallace. The book is about a little boy bear, named Buddy, who receives a package in the mail from his grandfather. The package contains five activities for Buddy to do while learning about seeds. My kids love it! I recommend the book because it really caprtures their attention and the activities can easily be done at home as a go-along with the book.

We also made it to nature class this week! We missed it two weeks in a row; last week because of my work schedule, and the week before because I was sick with a head cold. Coincidentally the nature class this week was about seeds, where they come from, how they grow into plants, etc. After the instruction was over, the children decorated a plastic cup with stickers and planted a few sunflower seeds. Then we went for a nature walk in the wood looking for seeds and nuts. Mostly, we found walnuts.

Today when I went into work, I brought the children with me and we went to the Spring Sale fundraiser afterward. Luckily, we didn’t see much we wanted to take home with us (I’ve been de-cluttering and organizing). I did find a nice small wooden bookshelf for Noah’s room, though. 🙂 Because it was so beautiful this morning, we made an impromptu stop at the park. We walked a couple miles, listened to the birds, saw a few trains go by, played at the playground and saw a few Mallard ducks. When we got home at 11:30 Noah was ready for his nap! Now Hannah and I are going to cuddle up on the couch and read some books. How was your week?

Leave a Reply

